Ice Cream by the Bag?

Home Made Ice Cream
Vanilla and peaches

 

 

I don’t know if I like a good workout…for the kids or my curiosity got the best of me. I saw this in the “Sunbury America” and had to try it.  I have fond memories of my brother and I kicking the can with ice, salt and cream and finally getting to eat real ice cream.

There are easier ways to make ice cream.. I like the easy way…plenty of  favorite brands usually those that have the least ingredients.  I believe this will be one of those moments that create fun memories that will last you a life time like my brother and I.

You can enjoy the antics of your children, finding unique ways to shake their bag of cream into ice cream. It’s quite entertaining and the bonus are delicious results . Then you can all sit down with a glass of  ice water maybe cookies or candy mash ins, like the one featured in this post. It’s just a peanut butter cup I made with milk/white chocolate and candied apricots on top.  If you put in mash-in like candy give them a ruff chop so they aren’t to big.

 

Ice Cream Ingredients

1/2 cup Heavy whipping cream or Half and Half

1 tsp. vanilla or a little scrape of vanilla beans from 1 bean

2 1/2 tsp. sugar

 

Tools

2 tight sealing sandwich bags

2 or 3 gallon size tightly sealing bags

1/2 gallon of Ice

6 Tbsp. Kosher Salt

Method

  1. Put all the ingredients (not the Ice or Kosher salt) into 1 of the sandwich bags. press out the air as you seal it. Then put that bag into the 2nd sandwich bag. Seal tight!
  2. Fill one gallon bag halfway with ice and Kosher salt. Then put the bags in the other gallon bag(s) For good measure or Little hands.
  3. Shake the bag 5-10 min. and wallah it’s ready, enjoy!
Leave a Reply

